Moose Jaw Warriors

The Moose Jaw Warriors Hockey Club is a community owned franchise in the Western Hockey League (WHL).

The WHL is a member of the Canadian Hockey League (CHL) whose membership is comprised of the three major junior hockey leagues; the Ontario Hockey League (OHL), Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL) and the Western Hockey League (WHL). The WHL offers top young prospects in Western Canada and the U.S. the opportunity to reach their full potential both on and off the ice, by providing an ideal environment to develop as a hockey player while not compromising their academic goals. All WHL Clubs graduate 100% of their players from high school and provide Education Advisors and support programs to assist players with their academics. At the conclusion of each League’s playoffs, the CHL hosts the MasterCard Memorial Cup, a National Championship tournament involving each of the three League’s Champions and the tournament host.

The Warriors came to Moose Jaw from Winnipeg, their inaugural season was 1984-1985 and they posted a 21-50-1 record. Among the many greats to wear a Warriors uniform in the early years include Theoren Fleury, Kelly Buchberger, Mike Keane, and Mark MacKay. Warriors alumni players currently playing in the National Hockey League (NHL) include such names as Troy Brouwer, Kyle Brodziak, Morgan Reilly, Travis Hamonic, Johnny Boychuk and Brooks Laich.

Moose Jaw won their first East Division title in 2004; in 2006 they won their first Eastern Conference championship, and advanced to the Western Hockey League Final.

The 2016/17 Home Opener is Friday, September 23rd against the Brandon Wheat Kings at Mosaic Place. In addition to the 36 regular home game schedule, the Warriors will host 2 home exhibition games on September 10th and September 17th inside Mosaic Place.